Error message

  • Notice: Trying to get property 'time' of non-object in _weather_parse_forecast() (line 219 of /var/www/vhosts/
  • Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in _weather_parse_forecast() (line 219 of /var/www/vhosts/

Annual Primary School Camogie Blitz

The Kilmacud Crokes Annual Primary School Camogie blitz was held on Thursday 16th June in Pairc De Burca.  Teams began arriving from about 10.45 for an 11.30 throw in with Our Ladys Grove being the most keen having at least a half an hour puck around before any opposition showed up.  There were 170 girls participating on 13 teams from 7 different local schools.   We distributed T shirts to each school ensuring a rainbow of colour on the pitch at all times. 

The competition has both a senior section and a junior section and the standard of Camogie was very high with most teams having players from Kilmacud Crokes and also players from Nh Olaf and Cuala.  Although the day was cold, the rain held off nicely.  We are very lucky in Kilmacud Crokes to have great volunteers and our teenage referees from our U15, Minor and Senior teams took charge on the field while other Minor players looked after collecting scores and ushering teams onto the pitch. 

The Senior final was contested by Gaelscoil Thaobh na Coille and Our Ladys Grove, ( both of whom will be playing in schools finals in Croke Park ) while the Junior final was contested by Our Lady of the Wayside from Kilternan and Gaelscoil Thaobh na Coille.  The finals were refereed by Alice Cregg and Ellen Kuipers.  Both finals were well contested but in the end the Senior Cup was raised and taken home by Roisin Ni Cathasaigh, Kilmacud Crokes player captain from Gaelscoil Thaobh na Coille and the Junior Cup was also won by Taobh na Coille.  The teacher from that school, Mairin Ni Dhubhtaigh who is our U13 Camogie manager in Kilmacud Crokes will now be expected to keep those cups nicely polished!!!

Many thanks to Niall Corcoran for presenting the medals and the Cups and to both himself and Padraig McDonald for their support in organising the event.

Thanks to Michael Finn, Aidan Roantree, Miriam Ni Chleirigh and Niamh Murphy for their help in running it and mostly to the teachers and players who continue to make this a great competition every year.