Draw Announced for the 2007 ONeills Kilmacud Crokes All-Ireland


Press Release
Tuesday, September 4th, 2007

Draw Announced for the 2007 O'Neills Kilmacud Crokes All-Ireland Football Sevens

2007 Championship attracts Asian Sevens champions as well as top Irish club teams

The draw for the 2007 O’Neills Kilmacud Crokes All-Ireland Football Sevens was announced today at the launch in Croke Park. The Championship attracts the best club sides from all over Ireland as well as teams from overseas.


Some of the best club teams in Ireland will be in attendance and include Crossmolina (Mayo), Moy (Tyrone), Castlewellan (Down), Kilmacud Crokes (Dublin), Corofin (Galway), O’Donovan Rossa and Castlehaven (Cork), An Gaeltacht (Kerry), St Galls (Antrim) and Castleblaney Faughs (Monaghan). This year will see Asian Sevens champions, the Hong Kong GAA Club, travel to compete in the prestigious event.
The O’Neills Kilmacud Crokes All-Ireland Football Sevens celebrates its 35th year and will take place on Saturday, 15th September 2007. This event is a firm favourite with GAA fans and is the perfect opening to what is considered the most important weekend of the year on the GAA calendar.
Teams compete in group stages over one day at four venues in the Stillorgan area, with the top eight teams playing in the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final at the Kilmacud Crokes grounds in Glenalbyn. Teams qualify for the Sevens by winning their county championship or by invitation to compete.
Mr. Tony Towell, Managing Director of O’Neills, was present at the launch and said: “That this tournament is in its 35th year speaks volumes for the appeal and status of the Sevens. This is why O’Neills is delighted to be involved in what will be another bumper weekend of football and fun in Kilmacud Crokes.
Mr Pauric McMenamin, Chairman of Kilmacud Crokes Football Committee, said: “We are delighted once more to welcome the top club sides from around Ireland to compete in what promises to be another action packed tournament. We would also like to extend a special welcome to the Hong Kong GAA club.”
We would like to thank O’Neills who have sponsored this All-Ireland Championship for the past four years and have contributed so much to what is a special weekend for Gaelic Football followers.”
Games will be broadcast on TG4 with highlights also being shown on Setanta Sports.
For more information:
Mick O’Keeffe/Kelli Slattery @ Pembroke Communications: 01 6496486
Pauric McMenamin @ Kilmacud Crokes: 086 243 0900
Cormac Farrell @ O’Neills: 01 429 3500
2007 O’Neills Kilmacud Crokes All Ireland Football 7-A-Side
Saturday, September 15th
Team Groups & Venues
Group 1                                                                           Group 2
Longstone                             (Down)                                   Bryansford                            (Down)
Castlehaven                         (Cork)                                     Tuam Stars                           (Galway)
Ballyroan                               (Laois)                                   Kickhams                              (Antrim)
Mohill                                     (Leitrim)                                 Hong Kong                           (China)
Group 3                                                                               Group 4
An Gaeltacht                         (Kerry)                                   Castlewellan                        (Down)
Thomas Davis                      (Dublin)                                 O’Donovan Rossa               (Cork)
Clonduff                                 (Down)                                 Clan na Gael                        (Tyrone)
Killannin                                (Galway)                                Parnells                                 (London)
Group 5                                                                               Group 6
Crossmolina                         (Mayo)                                   Castleblaney Faughs         (Monaghan)
Kilcoo                                     (Down)                                 St. Sylvesters                        (Dublin)
Carbury Rangers                 (Cork)                                     Killeavy                                  (Armagh)
St. Olafs                                 (Dublin)                                Breaffy                                   (Mayo)
Group 7                                                                               Group 8
Bellaghy                                (Derry)                                   St. Galls                                 (Antrim)
Carbury                                 (Kildare)                                Arles-Kileen                          (Laois)
St. Josephs                           (Louth)                                   Coolera-Strandhill               (Sligo)
An Riocht                              (Down)                                   Aherlow                                 (Tipperary)
Group 9                                                                               Group 10
Kilmacud Crokes                 (Dublin)                                 Clan na nGael                      (Armagh)
Naomh Micheal                   (Donegal)                              Tyrellspass                           (Westmeath)
Edendork                              (Tyrone)                                 Slaughtneil                           (Derry)
Caherlistrane                       (Galway)                                St. Aidans                              (Roscommon)
Group 11                                                                            Group 12
Corofin                                   (Galway)                                Moy                                        (Tyrone)
Gweedore                             (Donegal)                              Latton O’Rahillys                 (Monaghan)
Carrickmore                         (Tyrone)                                 Kilkerrin-Clonberne            (Galway)
Abbeylara                             (Longford)                             Newtown                               (Wicklow)
Glenalbyn                              Groups 1, 2
St. Benildus College             Groups 3, 4
Silverpark                               Groups 5, 6, 7, 8
Clonkeen College                 Groups 9, 10, 11, 12
Group games will be played on a league basis. The winner of each group will qualify for the knock-out stage of the competition. The first games take place at 11.00am.