2006 Primary School visits

Hurling Continues to Develop in Local Primary Schools


Pupils and teachers! Click HERE to see if you recognise anyone receiving their prize from Niall Corcoran (Kilmacud Crokes Hurling Coach) and Denis Gorey (Kilmacud Crokes Hurling Section).


During February and March 2006, a campaign was undertaken to actively promote the playing of hurling and camogie in each of the Club’s six main feeder schools – St. Laurence’s, Hollypark, Scoil San Treasa, Oatlands, Carysfort and St. Mary’s Booterstown. The campaign consisted of visiting each Senior Infant, 1st and 2nd Class and enthusing pupils (and their teachers) about the thrills and spills of playing hurling and camogie. In addition to informing pupils about what was happening in Kilmacud Crokes, particularly at Nursery level, each boy and girl was invited to participate in a written quiz, the winners of which received either a new Club jersey, a hurley and/or a sliotar.


It was clear from our visits that Kilmacud Crokes is held in high regard by each of the six Principals – Mr. Michael Garry (St. Laurence’s), Ms. Helen Kelly (Hollypark), Mr. Frank Hogan (Scoil San Treasa), Mr. Cagney (Oatlands), Ms. Rita McAlinden (Carysfort) and Mr. Robert O’Connor (St. Mary’s Booterstown).


Prize winners in each School (teachers name in brackets) were:


(1)   St. Laurences


Senior Infants (Ms. Gavin) – Ian Walsh, Aaron McNamee, Jason Byrne and Niall Brady

Senior Infants (Ms. McGrory) – Ryan O’Farrell

1st Class (Mr. Moran) – Ciaran Byrne

1st Class (Mr. Morrissey) – Thomas Kehoe, Patrick Flaherty and Ciarán Gorman

2nd Class (Mr. Kelly) – Oscar Markey and Jack Lawlor

2nd Class (Ms. Curtin) – James Browne and Cormac MacGrory


(2)   Hollypark


Senior Infants (Mrs. Horan) – Stephen Horgan and Eoin Barr

Senior Infants (Mrs. Burke) – Eamon Keating and Kieran McGrath

1st Class (Ms. Doherty) – Hugh Kenny and Hugo Brooks

1st Class (Ms. Smyth) – Matthew Geary, Stephen Kilcullen and David Cullen

1st Class (Ms. Melia) – Liam McNeill, Conor Killian and Niall Prior


(3)   Scoil San Treasa


Senior Infants (Ms. O’Dwyer) – Karl Butler and Conor Nyland

Senior Infants (Ms. Lyndon) – Cormac Keys

1st Class (Ms. Ní Shuilleabháin) – Daniel Houlihan and Katherine Purcell)

1st Class (Ms. Ní Fheorais) – Hannah Clavin, Cillian McCaul and Jack Stacey

2nd Class (Ms. Cashman) – Stephen O’Dwyer and Sadhbh McCarrick)

2nd Class (Ms. Quelan) – Dylan Hare and Jake Daly


(4)   Oatlands


2nd Class (Mr. O’Mahony) – Philip Carroll and Gary Murphy


(5)   Carysfort


1st Class (Ms. O’Byrne) – Adam McCarthy, Louis Murphy and Paul Buckley

2nd Class (Ms.Carroll) – Joe McAleese, Ellen Barnes and Caoimhe Fitzgerald


(6)   St. Mary’s Booterstown


Senior Infants (Ms. O’Dea) – James Morahan and Ewan Heapes

1st Class (Ms. Balance) – Sean Burns and Jack O’Dea

2nd Class (Ms. Leahy) – Hugh Caslin and Aidan Healy