Dancing at the Crossroads

Our Under 11 (2010) Hurlers were privileged to be invited by Ferns GAA to take part in the inaugural Séamus Murphy Tournament hosted by the Wexford club on Sunday 5th September. 

The event was an Under-11 hurling blitz tournament which featured eight clubs - six from County Wexford, along with visitors from Kilkenny and ourselves from Dublin. Each club had two equal teams, resulting in 16 teams taking part in the tournament, in four groups of four. With almost 250 young players lining out across the day. 

Each match was a straight 15 minute game. No break. No end change. A shoot out against a tight clock. 

Our two mixed panels came up against famous Wexford clubs and fine teams from  Raparees (Enniscorthy), Buffers Alley and the host club Ferns St Aidans in the group games. The machine gun format generated some fine scores and our two teams prevailed topping their respect groups unbeaten. 

Prior to the finals there was a full parade of all participating panels as the Sunday Game theme rang around the pristine Ferns pitches and grounds adorned in club and county colours. 

To capture the real sense of occasion our charges linked arms as Amhrán na bhFiann set the stage for the finals. 

The two Crokes teams beat more Wexford opponents in the finals taking the honours ahead of Oulart the Ballagh and Half Way House Bunclody respectively. 

We were further honoured by being named as inaugural winners of the Séamie Murphy Cup, which was awarded not only on the basis of match results, but also on other factors such as respect for the opposition, coaches, and referees.

Peter Nolan spoke very well on behalf of the hosts and there was an emotional presentation of the Cup from the Murphy Family to our two captains Seán Keane and Evan Canny. 

We would like to thank all players, parents and travelling support. Our oppositions across the day, and in particular main tournament organisers Jamie Dunbar and Peter Nolan and everyone in Ferns GAA for inviting us and for such an impressive well organised event.