Junior A's overcome Clontarf to book Semi final place

Date 12 Aug 2014
Home Team       Away Team Kilmacud Crokes 2-26 3-11 Clontarf
Venue Pairc de Burca

Junior A's win in style

Kilmacud Junior hurlers welcomed Clontarf to Pairc De Burca on Wed 13th for the Junior A championship quarter final. The home side played against the wind in the 1st half and found themselves with backs to the wall following the concession of a penalty that was saved by Eoin Dalton and a goal conceded shortly after from a near in free. It took some time for the Crokes to settle against a strong Clontarf side but a goal and a point from Alan Tiernan eased the home side back into the game. A good work rate and spread of scores saw Kilmacud take a five point lead with five mins to go before the short whistle. Clontarf, showed their top of the league position, was a true reflection of their capability by fighting back with three white flags in quick succession to leave a margin of two points in favour of the home side at half time on a score line of 1-09 to 1-07.

The resumption saw a determined Clontarf bring matters level and there followed an intensely competitive period in the game. Kilmacud eventually edged in front with strong teamwork and a good spread of scores scores from Hugh Gannon, Enda Mahon, Alan Tiernan, Ciaran McIntyre, Dara O'Gallchobhair. Clontarf lost a man to a 2nd yellow but competed to the end adding two further green flags before the finish. The man advantage enabled the home side to increase the winning margin to flatter somewhat. Other scorers on the night for Kilmacud were Declan Brown and Tony Walsh, with a point apiece. 

This was a very good team performace and sees the home side advance to play one of Boden/Cuala/Marks/Judes in the semi final.

A special mention goes to Kilmacud Crokes players Mikey O'Dwyer, Ronan Horgan and Dara O'Gallchobhair, who all celebrated their leaving certs by lining out on the evening. We wish them the very best in whatever paths they choose.

PANEL: Eoin Dalton, Paul Collins, Dave Canny, Mikey O'Dwyer, Declan Browne, JAmes O'Keeffe, Gavin Steed, Ronan Horgan, Dara O'Gallchobhair, Mark Lynskey, Hugh Gannon, Ciaran McIntyre, Tony Walsh, Enda Mahon, Alan Tiernan, Richie Power, Shane Canny, Cian Gormley, Conor Caulfield, Cillian O'Shea, Peter Herlihy, Donal Keane, Oisin Carroll, Cillian Fleming, Kevin Dalton;

Final Score 2-26 Clontarf 3-11