U11 v James Stephens 25/7/05

And so the journey came to an end.  After an exhilarating and action packed June that saw them travel to Kilkenny on four successive Saturdays and squeeze in a trip to Cork for the Na Piarsaigh Tournament where they also finished runners-up our under-11s fell at the final hurdle in the Phelan Stone Tournament in Ballyragget on Saturday 25th June 2005. 

The previous 3 Saturdays had seen them defeat Kilkenny teams Graigue Ballycallan, St Patrick’s Ballyragget and Emeralds Urlingford to reach the final.  As the only non-Kilkenny club in an entry of 16 teams this was a very creditable achievement.  However in the final an exceptional James Stephens (whose senior team are the reigning All-Ireland club champions) proved too good.

Although beaten, the squad and its mentors can hold their heads high since being runners-up in such a prestigious tournament is no mean feat.  They can also hold their heads high for their behaviour both on and off the field throughout the month, for the high level of skill and commitment displayed and the never say die spirit which saw them out of several tight corners.

Throughout the tournament Cian MacGabhann kept a faultless goal.  He was ably fronted by a very solid full back line alternating between Peter Fay, Daibhid Corish, Conor Sweeny and Kevin James McGowan.  Among the players to man the half back seats were Conor O’Dwyer, Oisin O’Rorke, Conor O’Dwyer, Matthew Geraghty, James Murphy all of whom gave good accounts of themselves.  Midfielders Ross McGowan, Caolan Conway and Conor Devins worked tirelessly while forwards Hugh Gowing, Cian Gormley, Neil Gorey, Maitiu McNicholas, Stephen Doughan, Thomas Campion, Tomas Barry and Michael Herlihy always posed a potent threat.  We now hope to put the experience gained to good use in our forthcoming games.

We thank all of the players, mentors and parents, particularly those parents who travelled to Kilkenny for the team's 4 matches and to Cork in this campaign.

Squad for Final:  Cian MacGabhann, Dabhid  Corish, Conor Sweeny, Peter Fay, Conor O’Dwyer, Conor Devins, Conor O’Byrne, Ross McGowan, Caolan Conway, Hugh Gowing, Cian  Gormley, Neil Gorey, Matthew Geraghty, Maitiu McNicholas, Stephen Doughan, Thomas Campion, Tomas Barry, Michael Herlihy, James Murphy, Mark Collins.

For More information about this team contact: Ronan Conway, Phone: 087-4197753 Email: ronan.d.conway@intel.com