U11's v Urlingford 18/6/05

Name of Submitter: Tom Barry (087 - 2200527)

Venue: Ballyragget (Kilkenny)

Conmpetition/League: Ballyragget Stone Phelan  Tounrament

Management Team: Ronan Conway, Brian Geraghty, Denis Gorey, Eamon O'Dwyer & Tom Barry.

Match Report/ Match Highlights:

Ballyrgget 3 turned out to be even more hectic than its two predecessors as the Crokes under 11 hurlers battled their way through a pulsating semi-final against the Emeralds of Urlingford on a 2-4 to 2-3 scoreline. After three successive Saturdays we now face James Stephens from Kilkenny city in the final on Satuday 25th June next.

The Kilkenny team were the first to score with a point in the opening minute. They then applied more pressure which Crokes did well to withstand. As the first half progressed the Kilmacud team began to come more into the game and with a few minutes to go to half time led by 2-2 to 0-1. However Emeralds pressed forward for a goal to leave just four points in it. Fortunately with the last puck of the half Crokes securd a poing from a 65.

At half time the Crokes bots knew they had a major job on their hands facing into a very strong wind just five points to the good. On the throw in they took the initiative and an early
attackin was unlucky not to yield a score. Soon after an Emeralds foray into the Crokes half resulted in a goal and from then on it was a real backs to the wall affair with the Urlingford eam applying huge pressre and some desperate defending on the part of the Stillorgan team.

With a few minutes to go Emeralds brought the margin to three points with a well struck goal from a 30 metre free. However press as they might they found the Crokes defending unflinching. In the final two minutes the tension was palpable as Emeralds were awarded three closes in frees for infringements which seemed to escape many in the crowd. All the frees were struck with the first yielding a poing, the second being blocked and the last, on the stroke of full time, shooting just over the bar.

Squad:         Cian MacGabhann, Dabhid Corish, Conor Sweeny, Peter Fay, Conor O’Dwyer, Oisin O’Rorke, Matthew Geraghty, Conor Devins, Ross McGowan, Caolan Conway, Cian Gormley, Conor O’Byrne, Neil Gorey, Maitiu McNicholas, Thomas Campion, Stephen Doughan, Tomas Barry, Hugh Gowing, Michael Herlihy.

For More information about this team contact: Ronan Conway

Phone: 087-4197753         Email: Ronan.d.conway@intel.com