U16s 1st round championship - victory over Finbarrs

Date 5 Oct 2012
Home Team       Away Team Kilmacud Crokes 3-14 0-09 Naomh Finnbarra
Venue Silverpark

U16 A Hurling C/ship: First round: Kilmacud Crokes V Naomh Fionnbarra.

The U16 hurling championship, delayed by Dublin’s participation in the drawn All-Ireland Minor Hurling Final, finally got underway on Saturday 6th October 2012. Kilmacud Crokes U16A team welcomed Naomh Fionnbarra to Silverpark for the first time, the visitors having been promoted to Division 1 for the 2012 season.

N Fionnbarra opened the scoring with a point from a free but Darragh Butler soon equalised with a point from play. Sean Keating opened his account with an early goal and followed up with 2 points from frees and a 65 by the 10th minute. N Fionnbarra scored another point but Crokes replied with a quick succession of points from Andrew Ahern, Alex Considine and a brace from Sean Keating. The Naomh Fionnbarra full forward scored 2 points from frees and completed their first half tally with another point from play. At the other end Sean Keating added another pointed 65 and a goal. N Fionnbarra were reduced to 14 when their centre back received a second yellow; Sean Keating pointed the resultant free to leave the score Kilmacud Crokes 2-10 N Fionnbarra 0-5 at the interval.

The second half was uneventful; the Crokes defence restricted the visitors to 4 points making good use of the extra man, while at the other end Conor Gowing scored a point from play and Sean Keating added 1-3 to his total. N Fionnbarra battled to the end but the Kilmacud Crokes defence were in control in every position and the game petered out to finish Kilmacud Crokes 3-14 N Fionnbarra 0-9. This win sets up a home semi-final against our neighbours Cuala on Saturday 20th September.

Squad: Tadhg Murphy, Eoin Keane, Ryan Murphy, Mark O Rourke, Peter Herlihy, Cillian O’ Shea, Des Dagg,  Sean Crowe, Francis O’ Reilly, Andrew Ahern, Paul Comerford, Darragh Butler, Michael Crowley, Sean Keating, Alex Considine, Lorcan Tucker, Conor Gowing, Shane Veale, Fiachra O’ Connor, Eamonn Allen, Mark McCallion, Dan Coakley, Cathal Keane.

Report by Frances Herlihy